Her starring role in the hit TV series God of Study has raised the profile of 17-year-old Go Ah-sung, and now she’s also got a fashion spread featured in the upcoming February Elle Girl magazine. The concept for the shoot, according to the staff, was to show a more grown-up image to the actress, which contrasts to her image as a child star from films like The Host, A Bittersweet Life, and Radio Days.

Go Ah-sung says in the interview featured in the magazine, “After taking a break from working, I spent time not as a child actor but as a 17-year-old girl. I tried music, taking photos, and traveled, and even performed in Hongdae as a vocalist. I experienced a peculiar pleasure from displaying photos I’d shot in a contest exhibit.”

Asked about starring with teen heartthrob Yoo Seung-ho in her current drama, she admitted, “To be honest, I’m worried because I think I’m going to gain anti-fans.” In the drama, which airs its fifth and sixth episodes this Monday and Tuesday, her character is hinted to have romantic developments with Yoo’s character. Adding to the complications are the fact that her friend (played by Ji-yeon) also likes him; her longtime childhood friend Lee Hyun-woo also looks to feature in the relationship rectangle.

source: dramabeans.com

READ FULL TRANSLATED INTERVIEW UNDER THE CUT

Now, she’s not the girl in the movie “The host” anymore. She performs live in Hongyi University, exhibits her own photography works and also travels alone.

At the same time, she’s also “Gil Pulip”, Yoo Seung Ho’s good friend in the new drama “God of Study”.Go Ah Sung have grown up, i was surprised when i visit her blog before meeting her in person.

For a 19 years old girl, she have such a great talent for music, outstanding photography skills, the memories and thoughts of her travels. In the new year, which is also the only day when there’s no shooting schedule for ‘God of Study’, she arrived with her heavy camera.

I found out through this interview, most of her time are spent on photography, music and travels. Just like the lyrics in the song “Dedicated to the 19 year old Sung” which is created for her by a band, she’s also a teenager who’s full of worries. She said that if she didn’t leave that village in Swiss, then we’ll be able to see an artistic actress in the future.


TRANSLATOR NOTE: She’s 18 in 2010 but 19 by Korean age. I didn’t edit this so there may be errors in grammars and sentence structure, some of the translations may not be 100% accurate as it’s a translation from chinese instead of korean.

Meeting Up with the 19-year old Go Ah Sung on the first day of 2010


Now, she’s not the girl in the movie “The host” anymore. She performs live in Hongyi University, exhibits her own photography works and also travels alone.

At the same time, she’s also “Gil Pulip”, Yoo Seung Ho’s good friend in the new drama “God of Study”.Go Ah Sung have grown up, i was surprised when i visit her blog before meeting her in person.

For a 19 years old girl, she have such a great talent for music, outstanding photography skills, the memories and thoughts of her travels. In the new year, which is also the only day when there’s no shooting schedule for ‘God of Study’, she arrived with her heavy camera.

I found out through this interview, most of her time are spent on photography, music and travels. Just like the lyrics in the song “Dedicated to the 19 year old Sung” which is created for her by a band, she’s also a teenager who’s full of worries. She said that if she didn’t leave that village in Swiss, then we’ll be able to see an artistic actress in the future.

Reporter(RP): Thanks for accepting this interview in the new year.
Go Ah Sung(GAS): It’s nothing. I’m actually pretty shy, i’m not sure if i’m able to do well.

RP: How do you act if you’re shy?
GAS: Right, in other words, instead of shy, it’s more like lack of confidence because i’m not good in expressing myself.

RP: How much do you want to express yourself?
GAS: I’m never satisfied, not only about acting, it also includes drawing and singing.

RP: I saw your perfomance video in Hongyi University, it’s really great.
GAS: Because i go there often, i’m close with the unnies there so i tried singing a little.

RP: Your dubbing was featured in Inda band’s album right?
GAS: I’m their fan and i also watch their perfomances so that’s why we became close.
Because i like this band from Hongyi university so i go there every week. Although lately i can’t go because of the drama shooting…

RP: Any songs that you like listening to recently?
GAS: Although i like songs by Inda, i received Simth’s LP once and i really like it. I listen to a lot of 80’s songs too.

RP: You’re going to release an album right?
GAS: I never had this thought. I’m not scared of performing live anymore and i’m satisfied with this.

RP: I heard that your mom is a big fan of Seo Tae Ji?
GAS: Yes. Because i listen to their songs a lot when i was little so i became a fan of Seo Tae Ji too.

RP: It’s nice that you have a mom who’s like your friend. You don’t need to follow the management company, you can follow your mom to work.
GAS: I think there’s no need of management company. I’ve always done my activities by my own since young so if i enter a management company, i will feel that i lose my freedom.

RP: It seems like your mom took a lot of picture during your shoot… Is that camera that surprised the professional photographers yours?
GAS: Photography is wonderful because it can become the evidence of our memories.

RP: I’ve seen the pictures you took when you were invited to Cannes Movie Festival because of the movie, “Traveler” they look very professional
GAS: That’s because Cannes is already very pretty.

RP: You also won the prize of “Casio Portrait exhibition”, what is the work about?
GAS: It’s here (Ahsung slowly took out the camera from her bag and show me the picture)

RP: It’s a back view of a nun?
GAS: When i was acting in ‘Traveler’, the actress who played the nun became my model.

RP: What do you like to take photos of?
GAS: i think portraits of people is interesting, i took a lot of pictures of my friends. Because i don’t like them looking directly at the camera so i took the pictures behind their back.

RP: Are your friends unhappy about that?
GAS: That’s why i never tell them when i took their pictures.

RP: Among your own other works, you seem to like ‘Traveler’ better?
GAS: Even though i was in the blockbuster like ‘The host’, i personally like small budget films (indie films) better. I’m happy that i’m able to act in a great film like the’Traveler’ even though it’s a small budget film. At first, the director even said, “An actress who acted in a blockbuster like “The host” is willing to act in our movie?” When i heard of this, i was very disappointed. I didn’t know others view me like this so now, i try to change myself.

RP: Do you choose the scripts with your mom?
GAS: Even though i listen to my mom’s advice but i make the final decision.

RP: If you have chosen ‘God of Study’ yourself, then it don’t really match the you who like indie films.
GAS: After ‘Traveler’, i also acted in ‘After Wedding Banquet’ but nobody really knows. I want to gain acknowledgment from people through these movies but nobody watches them. So i think i should not choose films by my own will.

RP: It don’t seem easy when you’re talking about drama.
GAS: Compared to movies, you will need to show more acting skills in dramas.

RP: What kind of acting you want to show others?
GAS: In a way, audience can relate more to dramas than movies. Artists follow their own will to express themselves but the mass choose things to like from many things. Artists can never follow the steps of the mass but of course i’m not criticizing dramas. ‘Traveler’ shows a darker side of me but through ‘God of Study’, i want to show everyone the bright side of myself and i’m very happy about that.

RP: I heard that you’re worried of anti fans because you act with Yoo Seung Ho.
GAS: More people get to know me through ‘The Host’ but the sudden increase of attention and comments pressures me. But now i already have the power to withstand because those hurtful comments made me more mature.

RP: You have a lot of travel photos in your blog, is that all shot my your own?
GAS: I can keep walking for a long time, usually i walk to school and meeting places, i can just walk the whole day. After the end of ‘God of Study’, i’m going to do more traveling.

RP: Do you feel good traveling alone?
GAS: I do, i want to live by my own when i grow up.

RP: You wrote “Seems like there’s no real adult” on your blog, what kind of adult you want to be?
GAS: This is a quote from a fan comment that left a big impression on me. Before, i always think that i want to be this kind of adult, how i want to live but as time goes by, i realize that the things i wanted is hard to come true. Then i will think, i can only live like this?

RP: You written quite a lot of essays, you also like writing?
GAS: I started writing diaries from 2 years ago. The diaries i’ve written for the past 2 years have became my great asset. It also helps a lot during the interviews and shootings.

RP: Do you want to publish a book?
GAS: I don’t really like it when people are saying things like, “Go Ahsung released a photography book, released an album”. But sometimes, i’m envious of singers and authors. I’m different from them, acting is a way of expressing myself. But when i’m feeling unhappy, i can only release them through other ways. For now, I still don’t have the confidence (referring to publishing a book)

RP: What do you do with your friends?
GAS: Sometimes, we play in amusement parks, sometimes, i will talk a lot in friend’s house.

RP: What do you mostly talk about? Girls of 20 something usually talk a lot about guys…
GAS: We also talk about boys frequently but of course it’s different from what unnies talk about.

RP: Do you wish to have a boyfriend?
GAS: Sometimes people are like children that crave for love, i’m like that recently. Actually that’s because of acting. Because i’m young and i don’t have much of life experience, sometimes i can’t act naturally. Sometimes i can only imagine about it and that’s it but it can never be compare to real life experiences, like a friend dying, giving birth, those are really difficult to act. That’s why i want to experience love for once.

RP: What kind of boyfriend do you wish for?
GAS: Someone who likes me is good enough. When a new born child and a dog look at me, if they express dislike to me, i will be bothered. This is a habit of an actress, even if an actress is satisfied, it’s in vain if others are not looking at you and not giving you any comment. After the meeting with the director, i always feel disappointed in myself, why do i not have the charm that can convince them. I think every actresses and actors are like that.

RP: Now you’re pretty and you can act well, there’s nothing to be guilty about.
GAS: It’s stressful as you need to show your best side to everyone. An actress is always auditioning.

RP: Do you regret becoming an actress?
GAS: I’m very happy, especially when the director praises me but it will be a problem if i overreact after hearing the praises.

RP: You’re 19 years old now, people of your age have many choices but now you’re destined to be an actress, don’t you feel unhappy about it?
GAS: Acting is not a profession, there’s nothing that can go our way, i got the chance to act so i always feel insecure about it. Once, I asked Kim Soo Ro Ahjusshi about this, he replied, “the feeling will still continue until now”. Even someone who’s so good thinks that way, i will want to try out other things beside acting in the future like photography and singing.

RP: You don’t really go on variety shows?
GAS: I was in ‘Intimate Note’ once but variety shows don’t suit me. I’m not someone who takes initiative and i don’t talk much, i will not go on variety shows in the future.

RP: Right, it’s better to do things that you like.
GAS: It’s hard to do things that i want but i will work hard.

RP: I heard that there’s someone who leaves everything behind to pursue his dream and travel around the world.
GAS: It’s wonderful, my dream is to earn enough money to go to the village in Swiss and never come back.

RP: It’s tough to earn enough money that can support your own living for the whole life.
GAS: Then i will borrow money for travel and never come back (Ahsung laughs), I can only live as Go Ah Sung in Korea for the whole life. I don’t like it. A change of environment can let me live as another person.

Korean to Chinese Translations: jihongli1986@baidu
Chinese to English Translations: c_gunawan541@soompi

I really learned a lot about her from this interview. Like what c_gunawan541 said on soompi, she reminds me of Goo Hye Sun because she’s also creative, very down-to-earth, and talented. I like that Ah Sung still sounds very humble and is very dedicated to her work even at a young age. She’s quite the role model.

